Busi & Peter -The Cradle

1 April, 2008

A friend mentioned that when I back-up shoot with her, she always has to ‘prep’ the clients about the second shooter at their wedding. Telling them that I’m inclined to get rather excitable and, when very excited, the arms tend to flap around as I attempt to string a sentence together. Plus almost trip over a rock in the process, as the light or position is just so “frikkin” awesome. She knows me, she warns her clients, so no problems there. My clients usually meet me beforehand, so they know what they’re in for!

Last weekend was a little different, as I was second-shooting for Jules Morgan.  Whilst Jules and I have met in person and have had lots of email correspondences… she has never seen me photograph. So I had a harsh talking to myself before setting out.

I reminded myself I was merely backing-up and that I was to remain as cool as a cucumber, professional and keep the arm-flapping under control.

It rained, we did the creatives, Busi and Peter were mingling with their guests…all was going well….I was under control ….. and then……it appeared… a rainbow. I had to have another one-to-one with myself… (“not your client Andrea, calm and collective PLEASE !”).

Rainbow and lighting got even more intense….time for another talking-to…the rain had, by now, almost stopped and the sight before my eyes was killing me….Busi happened to walk past me at that exact moment, and then it all went pear-shaped.

I ran towards Busi, arms flapping going on, incoherently I am sure, about the incredible light and rainbow, and hauled her out again to get these;

wedding-johannesburg-01.jpg

wedding-johannesburg-04.jpg

wedding-johannesburg-02.jpg

wedding-johannesburg-03.jpg

I had a great time shooting with Jules; you can have a look at her website to see some more, and mabe get a glimpse of the groom, not just the rainbow!  www.julesmorganweddings.com.

Thank you for the opportunity Jules!

Busi and Peter if you do get to see this, thank you for allowing me to share this special day….I know you did not get the “pre-warning”.

12 Responses to “Busi & Peter -The Cradle”

  1. Kate Says:

    Stunning! Don’t worry about having freaked out the bride…if I were her I would have been pissed if you DIDN’T get an awesome shot like that! I mean if a rainbow just hands itself to you, what are you going to do? 🙂

  2. Anne Says:

    With pics like these I think arm flapping will be welcome by an bride you shoot…….These are stunning….the light is just amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

    #1 is just superb! nuff said

    I love these……

  3. Kate Says:

    Where was the venue, by the way?

  4. andreac1 Says:

    Good point Kate!….will just go into the admin side and ammend the heading, got carried away with that damn rainbow!

    At the Cradle…I am dreading my next one there as we had the amazing yellow light and unbelievable blue overcast sky with Eva, the Rainbow with Busi…now we need something like the northern lights to keep up with the past two!

  5. andreac1 Says:

    Ok Done! Thanx Kate, venue in the heading….please feel free to spot these things again.

  6. Cyndi Says:

    So Andrea, since we are going to be at The Cradle in August….. Can you arrange those Northern Lights for us?

    I love these shots, the 1st one in particular. I am so looking forward to you flapping your arms at us!

  7. Kate Says:

    My pleasure 🙂 It’s me, Katharine of the dreaded Halloween weekend, by the way – told you I was blog stalking!

    It’s gonna be hard to top these two Cradle weddings, I’ve got to say! Not to be a downer, but it’s the price you pay when you set your standard so high!

  8. andreac1 Says:

    Katerine, I realised it was you as the blog gives your email address I wasn’t sure if you had your anorak on stalking in icognito, under the name of Kate so did not want to blow your cover and refered to you by the name you put.
    Cyndi – Cradle in August…may even resort to buing a “northern lights” backdrop with fireworks in it. There is the erupting volcano one or a Hurricane come Tornado, …just backdrops you understand so your hair won’t get messed up!

  9. Kate Says:

    Well, I always use my “spare” gmail address for web postings etc, just in case they are visible, but of course it has my surname in it anyway! Kate I just use occasionally for online stuff – it’s easier to type and for people to spell! I’m keen for those tornado shots, btw. 🙂

  10. Paul Pearce Says:

    Andrea you are out doing yourself again and if you could only harness your “Photographic eye” and sell it you would easily become the next top 10 rated millionaires in the world along with Trump. You know just how to capture true romance, some people write romantic books you write them with spectacular images. I am looking forward to working with you later this year as your second shooter.

  11. Busi Says:

    Andrea! I really don’t know how I missed the link to your site on Jules’ note. I just saw these pictures now. I’ve told so many of my friends about the photographer with the flapping arms (remember the language as well :-). I’m so glad you spotted the rainbow…what a day…bright sunshine, rain clouds gathering, thunderstorm, rainbow and dark sky, horizon with a beautiful orange hue at dusk, all in one day. I think it’s a good sign, don’t you?? And, by the way, I’m reminded of a certain photographer whose was literally scraping the wet ground shooting away 🙂 It was indeed worth the few raindrops, and missing out on bubbly 🙂

  12. andreac1 Says:

    Thanks Paul, but that’s the problem with passion, you’re not really interested in the Moola! so Mr Trump is safe. I am not after his Cartel.
    Busi I am glad to hear that you referred to me as the “scrapping and flapping” photographer vs. Sultry and sexy photographer!!


Leave a Reply

